Senate votes for Special Committee… What you need to know

Senate Speaker Ken Lusaka

Senate votes for Special Committee to probe charges against Anne Waiguru

  • 14 voted for Plenary
  • 45 voted for Special Committee
  • 1 Abstained
  • 7 Absent

Committee sittings start tomorrow and will run for a maximum of 10 days when the senate is likely to have a special sitting by/on June 26, 2020

The Senate Business Committee last Friday, June 12, 2020 recommended an 11-member committee to investigate charges leveled against Anne Waiguru.

The committee members are:

  1. Sen. Abshiro Halake
  2. Sen. Michael Mbito
  3. Sen. Mwangi Paul Githiomi
  4. Sen. Beth Mugo
  5. Sen. Anuar Liotiptip
  6. Sen. Philip Mpaayei
  7. Sen. Cleophas Malala
  8. Sen. Beatrice Kwamboka
  9. Sen. Stewart Madzayo
  10. Sen. Judith Pareno
  11. Sen. Moses Kajwang

The committee will interrogate the Kirinyaga Governor and her staff in relation to all accusations in a bid to ensure a fair hearing before making

IF the Special Committee finds that;

  • Grounds are SUFFICIENT for her impeachment – They’ll present the report to the house to be subjected to a vote

Grounds are NOT sufficient for her impeachment – They’ll only present the report to the house for the house to note

Senate voting;




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here